Forums
*SoS* SQUAD :: Forums :: General Forums :: Tech
 
<< Previous thread | Next thread >>
My new router in the near future
Go to page  1 [2] 3
Moderators: admin, Blackstone, Shelt, Patriot, JDK, Sgt.Bob*SoS*, Hops, Kilgor, hammertime, Deadmeat *SOS*, sunshine, TheBoz!, Explosive
Author Post
Blackstone
Thu Jun 20 2013, 02:52PM

Registered Member #2
Joined: Wed Nov 29 2006, 05:21PM
Posts: 329
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
Here is my gaming rig's wireless router:
Click Here
Back to top
TheBoz!
Fri Jul 26 2013, 12:37AM
The Almighty!

Registered Member #50
Joined: Mon Dec 25 2006, 10:13PM
Posts: 318
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Huh...? Cat5 = router...?
Back to top
Patriot
Fri Jul 26 2013, 07:39PM
Ping is KING!!!

Registered Member #5
Joined: Fri Dec 08 2006, 09:10PM
Posts: 1446
Thanked 3 times in 3 posts
WOW that rare BOZ sighting!!!!!!
Back to top
Blackstone
Sat Jul 27 2013, 01:55PM

Registered Member #2
Joined: Wed Nov 29 2006, 05:21PM
Posts: 329
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
sweet boz bait works! yeah, it was really a joke boz, my cat6 cable > any wireless conection
Back to top
LiL`c
Sun Jul 28 2013, 01:10PM
~Sniper~
Registered Member #58
Joined: Mon Jan 01 2007, 07:36PM
Posts: 132
Thanked 0 times in 0 posts
Hops wrote ...

Any takers on the roustabout? If a position opens up on my rig I will let you guys know, but right now we are fully staffed.


Deff going to check into that, and also watch for some Medical Openings,
Back to top
Shelt
Fri Dec 27 2013, 08:57PM
Instant Death

Registered Member #3
Joined: Wed Dec 06 2006, 05:53AM
Posts: 348
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
I just had to buy a router and got the same one. I don't use wireless for gaming, but it works wonders to stream cable TV to the laptop. And still plenty of bandwidth for me to do work downstairs on my work computer.

I had to replace a modem, router, and 2 NIC's because of a lightening strike. I always use the power surge protector, but have never used the cable surge protector that is on it....guess I ended up lucky on this one.
Back to top
Shelt
Fri Dec 27 2013, 09:00PM
Instant Death

Registered Member #3
Joined: Wed Dec 06 2006, 05:53AM
Posts: 348
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
Hops, did you ever get DD-WRT set up on this one....seems to be a little finicky from what I have read.

I saw a post that recommends doing Merlins mod, then Tomato, then DD-WRT.
I have used DD-WRT in the past, but have used Shibby's Tomato version for quite awhile.

I have my RT-N66U running Shibby's Tomato right now, just wondering if you ever got the DD-WRT set up and what steps you had to do to get it.
Back to top
Hops
Sat Dec 28 2013, 05:13AM
sex at 90 is like shooting pool with a rope!

Registered Member #14
Joined: Mon Dec 11 2006, 09:26AM
Posts: 225
Thanked 4 times in 4 posts
I did not load it. I was going to load Merlin, but I did a firmware from ASUS, and have had no issues with it. I am using it with a 3tb hard-drive as a media server and it works great.

[ Edited Sat Dec 28 2013, 05:16AM ]
Back to top
Shelt
Sat Dec 28 2013, 02:05PM
Instant Death

Registered Member #3
Joined: Wed Dec 06 2006, 05:53AM
Posts: 348
Thanked 2 times in 2 posts
I loaded Merlins, didn't see (or notice) a big difference with the layout or selection.
I have become accustomed to Tomato, so will probably stick with it.
Haven't hooked up streaming yet, but may in the future. Most of the movies we watch are all in the living area, and that is hard wired with plenty of storage. I just move the videos to that machine.
Back to top
Hops
Sun Dec 29 2013, 03:20AM
sex at 90 is like shooting pool with a rope!

Registered Member #14
Joined: Mon Dec 11 2006, 09:26AM
Posts: 225
Thanked 4 times in 4 posts
I have used the wireless streaming on the 5g, to two separate t.v's at the same time and it works well.
Back to top
Go to page  1 [2] 3  

Jump:     Back to top

Syndicate this thread: rss 0.92 Syndicate this thread: rss 2.0 Syndicate this thread: RDF
Powered by e107 Forum System uses forum thanks

This site is property of *SoS* squad.